Barron Close Up
The mill, owned by the Joseph Barron family for almost a century and now owned by MaryJane Butters, is the only intact flour mill remaining on the Palouse. The J.C. Barron Flour Mill in Oakesdale, a gorgeous three story structure, was built in 1890 and by 1891 the railroad shipped 2 million bushels of wheat per year out of the building. The flour mill was a pioneer in the whole wheat industry when health benefits of whole wheat became widely known and utilized the wheat grown in the region by local farmers. The building no longer houses the flour mill but stands as a beautiful reminder of a bygone era at the edge of town.